Mount Rainier - July 31, 2012

1:15 a.m. on September 13, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
15 forum posts

On July 31, I summited Mount Rainier via Disappointment Cleaver Route with some friends and here is a report on the climb, along with some other information.

In June, 2010 I did a 12 day course with American Alpine Institute. To say the least, I was not prepared for this course and I learned my lesson the hard way. Next year in 2011, I put in more efforts into training and climbed Temple Crag  in High Sierras with friends from Vanderbilt University.

Earlier in April this year, I started training for Mount Rainier. I trained 4-5 days a week – 1 or 2 days of strength training, 2 days of cardio and a day hike over the weekend. I found this link very useful in planning my training. By mid-July I had trained for three months and hiked 50+ miles with a 45 pound backpack in my mountaineering boots. I felt good about the overall training, so I booked my tickets to Seattle. In the last week, I also practiced crevasse rescue at home and this video really helped in revising the technique.

A week before the climb, I started organizing my gear. I bought a 90L North Face duffel bag from REI and after several attempts I was able to pack all my gear (including 70L backpack, ice axe, trekking pole, boots, 15F sleeping bag) into this duffel bag and a 30L Lowe Alpine Summit Attack pack. One check in bag and one carry-on bag – light & compact and I loved it.