Tents and Shelters

Ready for a night out? Whether you’re an ultralight alpinist, family of backpackers, devoted hanger, or comfort camper, you'll find the best tents, tarps, and hammocks for your outdoor overnights right here.

Check out our top picks below—including price comparisons—to shelter you in any terrain, trip, or season: winter mountaineering, three-season thru-hiking, warm weather car camping, hammock hanging, alpine bivys, tarps, and emergency shelter.

Or you can browse our thousands of independent tent and shelter ratings and reviews by product type, brand, or price. Written by real-world hikers, backpackers, alpinists, climbers, and paddlers, Trailspace community reviews will help you select a dependable, field-tested, outdoor abode just right for your next adventure.

Learn more about how to choose a tent/shelter below »

Categories

Four-Season
3-4 Season Convertible
Three-Season
Warm Weather
Bivy Sacks
Tarps and Shelters
Hammocks
Accessories

Brands

Kelty
High Sierra
MSR
SlingFin
Helsport
Hennessy Hammock
Ozark Trail
Columbia
REI
The North Face

Genders

Unisex
Men's
Kids'

Price

less than $25
$25 - $49.99
$50 - $99.99
$100 - $199.99
$200 - $299.99
$300 - $399.99
$400 - $499.99
$500 and above

Recent Tent/Shelter Reviews

Kelty Cabana

rated 4.5 of 5 stars Great roomy shelter that will fit a family of 4. Perfect for the beach. Gets a little stuffy inside if oriented away from air flow. I purchased this model sun shelter to use at the beach. It is a very good shelter. It requires 3 tent poles to put up and can be assembled by one person in about 5 minutes. It can be more challenging on a windy day. The shelter is very roomy. Two adults and two small children and one small dog fit inside comfortably. It provides good shade. On days with little wind,… Full review

High Sierra Appalachian Family Cabin Tent

rated 4.5 of 5 stars Very roomy, great price. Instructions not great, but much easier after first time. Bought this tent a few years ago, just used it this year. Instructions are poor but after the first time (3 people, 1 hour) it will be much easier. We found out that rolling it the final time gets you a lot more room in the duffle so you can add more gear, like a ground cloth. A ton of room for everyone, lots of places to store gear. Hard to complain for $225. Full review

MSR Mutha Hubba HP

rated 5 of 5 stars One of the most comfortable tents I've ever owned. Very roomy with great headroom and extremely airy. Will fit three people comfortably, but it's amazing with 2 people and a dog. Full review

SlingFin 2Lite Trek

rated 5 of 5 stars I'm 6'1" and I have about 2-3 inches of room on each side of my body (feet and head)! Cheap compared to anything else in its class! They are known for big mountain gear...looks like they are down with the weekend warrior too! Versatility, if you are like me and value your body. I use trekking poles. With the 2Lite Trek you save even more weight! Roomy enough for two 6-ft grown men. My buddy and I were able to get in and out no problem, especially because we each had our own door and vestibule to… Full review

Helsport Ringstind Superlight 1-2

rated 5 of 5 stars A tent that does what it is supposed to do, very well. For me it is "perfect." Used it in the forest and mountains in Norway. It is easy to set up and take down, even in quite windy conditions. I did not have any problems being stuck in the tent because of the weather. Some might find it too small, I like it. Dual skin and good ventilation.  It weighs just 2 lb. or 0,96 Kg It is not an expedition tent. It is a lightweight no nonsense tent.  It does not have lights built in to the tent pole. Full review

Hennessy Hammock Safari Deluxe Asym Zip

rated 5 of 5 stars Amazing. Put it up in 5 minutes and in the dark the first time I ever used it. So comfortable. With serious cervical spine issues I got better sleep in this than on my 800$ Tempurpedic. It got as low as 20 degrees f that night and snowed and I was warm in an old military bag and amazingly comfortable. I will never buy a different brand hammock for a serious camping hammock. Maybe some parachute hammocks etc for fun around the house, but not for the AT or anything. See storyline and pros above. Full review

Ozark Trail 12 x 14 Screen House

rated 1.5 of 5 stars I got this from a friend. Need the manual if anyone has it. Please email it katferris3@yahoo.com. Can't find it anywhere online due to it being discontinued. Any help even a picture would be great. Thank you!! In desperate need of the instructions!! This is one puzzle I can't figure out. Got it from a friend and there are no instructions or even a picture of it. Either would be most appreciated! Please email either to katferris3@yahoo.com.  Full review

MSR E-Wing

rated 5 of 5 stars As a reverse (camping) snob, I had to break down and buy the E-Wing and now I take it to most outdoor events. If you're like me, you try to keep camping fun. An important ingredient in that equation is to keep costs down. I am very sensitive to those "gucci" campers who buy everything from REI or similar Cadillac outfitters. On a recent camping / kayaking trip, however, a fellow camper who shares my penchant for frugality surprised me by pulling from a tiny nylon bag, what I thought was a poncho… Full review

Columbia Black Mountain

rated 2 of 5 stars 10x10 camping tent. It's okay, but the mechanics of the zipper are just awful. There are multiple problems with the zipper. It gets caught up in the material that covers the zipper almost every time you try to use it. I spent nearly 3 hours trying to reattach the zipper into the seams, which eventually became unattached all together. Don't buy this tent Full review

Top-Rated Tents and Shelters

Sort by: name | rating | price | availability | recently reviewed

user rating: 4.5 of 5 (3)
Kelty Cabana reviewed Jul 28, 2015
$77 - $99
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (1)
High Sierra Appalachian Family Cabin Tent reviewed Jul 27, 2015
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
MSR Mutha Hubba HP reviewed Jul 25, 2015
discontinued
NEW!
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
SlingFin 2Lite Trek reviewed Jul 24, 2015
$329
available Fall 2015
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
Helsport Ringstind Superlight 1-2 reviewed Jul 24, 2015
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
Hennessy Hammock Safari Deluxe Asym Zip reviewed Jul 21, 2015
$225
 
user rating: 3 of 5 (17)
Ozark Trail 12 x 14 Screen House reviewed Jul 19, 2015
discontinued
user rating: 5 of 5 (6)
MSR E-Wing reviewed Jul 16, 2015
$125 - $174
user rating: 2 of 5 (2)
Columbia Black Mountain reviewed Jul 12, 2015
discontinued
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (6)
REI Kingdom 6 Tent reviewed Jul 12, 2015
$439
NEW!
user rating: 4 of 5 (1)
SlingFin 2Lite reviewed Jul 12, 2015
$329
available Fall 2015
user rating: 5 of 5 (3)
The North Face VE 24 reviewed Jul 11, 2015
discontinued
 
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (1)
Cabela's North Star Bivy reviewed Jul 11, 2015
user rating: 3 of 5 (10)
The North Face Merlin 33 reviewed Jul 11, 2015
discontinued
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (7)
REI Base Camp 6 reviewed Jul 10, 2015
$429
user rating: 3 of 5 (3)
NEMO Obi 2P reviewed Jul 10, 2015
$390
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (28)
MSR Hubba reviewed Jul 9, 2015
$280 - $339
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (5)
Bibler Tempest reviewed Jul 9, 2015
discontinued
user rating: 3 of 5 (4)
NEMO Morpho 1P reviewed Jul 9, 2015
$390 MSRP
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (1)
The North Face Talus 2 reviewed Jul 9, 2015
$199
user rating: 4 of 5 (6)
ALPS Mountaineering Chaos 3 reviewed Jul 9, 2015
$196
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
Mountainsmith Genesee 4 reviewed Jul 9, 2015
$200
user rating: 4 of 5 (8)
Big Agnes Fly Creek UL1 reviewed Jul 8, 2015
$240 - $319
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (2)
Catoma EBNS Enhanced Bed Net System reviewed Jul 7, 2015
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (1)
Hummingbird Hammocks Tree Straps reviewed Jul 7, 2015
$30 MSRP
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (3)
Mountainsmith Mountain Shelter LT reviewed Jul 6, 2015
$130
user rating: 4 of 5 (10)
Grand Trunk Ultralight Hammock reviewed Jul 5, 2015
$20
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (2)
Big Agnes Fishhook UL 2 reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$280
user rating: 4 of 5 (5)
REI Quarter Dome 2 reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$299
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (3)
Grand Trunk Single Parachute Nylon Hammock reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$55
user rating: 4 of 5 (1)
Yukon Outfitters Mosquito Hammock reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$40 MSRP
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (9)
Big Agnes Copper Spur UL3 reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$370 - $499
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (1)
Terra Nova Solar Photon 2 reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$490
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (1)
Sierra Designs Flash 3 reviewed Jul 2, 2015
$400
user rating: 5 of 5 (1)
NEMO Obi 1P reviewed Jul 1, 2015
$320
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (1)
Black Diamond Ahwahnee Ground Cloth reviewed Jul 1, 2015
$40
 
user rating: 5 of 5 (2)
Moss Tents Tent reviewed Jun 29, 2015
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (13)
Sierra Designs Light Year 1 reviewed Jun 29, 2015
$170 MSRP
 
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (83)
Northwest Territory Vacation Home 10-Person Tent 14' x 14' reviewed Jun 29, 2015
$250 MSRP
user rating: 5 of 5 (3)
Six Moon Designs Skyscape Trekker reviewed Jun 28, 2015
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (32)
The North Face Rock 22 reviewed Jun 24, 2015
$189 MSRP
 
user rating: 2 of 5 (12)
Northwest Territory Family Cabin 8-Person Tent 14' x 14' reviewed Jun 23, 2015
$170 MSRP
user rating: 4 of 5 (9)
REI Hobitat 6 reviewed Jun 22, 2015
$319 MSRP
 
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (18)
Ozark Trail 12' x 10' Family Dome Tent reviewed Jun 22, 2015
discontinued
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (3)
No Limits Kings Peak II reviewed Jun 17, 2015
$70 MSRP
user rating: 4 of 5 (1)
MSR Hubba NX reviewed Jun 16, 2015
$255 - $399
user rating: 4.5 of 5 (1)
ZPacks Solplex reviewed Jun 16, 2015
user rating: 3.5 of 5 (1)
Mountain Hardwear Shifter 2 reviewed Jun 15, 2015
$135 - $199
user rating: 3 of 5 (37)
Ozark Trail 2-Person Junior Dome Tent reviewed Jun 11, 2015
$23 MSRP
user rating: 4 of 5 (1)
BearPaw Wilderness Designs Minimalist 2 reviewed Jun 8, 2015
Page 1 of 67:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next » 

What’s the “best” tent or shelter for you? Consider your personal outdoor needs, preferences, and budget:

  • Conditions:
    First, and most important, in what seasons, conditions, and terrain will you use your tent, tarp, or hammock? Choose a shelter that can handle the conditions you expect to encounter (rain, snow, wind, heat, humidity, biting insects, an energetic scout troop), but don’t buy more tent than you truly need, and don’t expect one tent to do it all.
  • Capacity:
    Tents are typically classified by sleeping capacity (i.e. one-person, two-person, etc). However, a tent's stated sleeping capacity usually does not include much (or any) space for your gear and there’s no sizing standard between tent manufacturers. Some users size up.
  • Livability:
    Will you use the tent as a basecamp or is it an emergency shelter only? To determine if you and your gear will fit, look at the shelter’s dimensions, including floor and vestibule square areas, height and headroom (including at the sides), plus the number and placement of doors, gear lofts, and pockets, to assess personal livability, comfort, and footprint.
  • Weight and Packed Size:
    If you’ll be backpacking, climbing, cycling, or otherwise carrying that shelter, consider its weight, packed size (and your pack it needs to fit in), and its space-to-weight ratio before automatically opting for the bigger tent. Paddlers and car campers have more room to work with, but everyone should consider how the tent and its parts pack up for stowage.
  • Design:
    Tents come in various designs. Freestanding tents can stand alone without stakes or guy lines and can be easily moved or have dirt and other debris shaken out without being disassembled, though they still need to be staked out. Rounded, geodesic domes are stable and able to withstand heavy snow loads and wind. Tunnel tents are narrow and rectangular, and large family cabin tents are best for warm-weather campground outings.
  • Other features and specs to consider include single versus double-wall, ease of setup, stability, weather resistance, ventilation, , and any noteworthy features.
  • Read more in our guide to tents.