Trekking/Hiking Poles

5:12 p.m. on August 19, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Hello,

Looking for recommendations for poles for slow poke hikers on easy/moderate trail.

So far, I know that we need collapsible and adjustable and with a comfortable grip (like cork). But I'm not an expert.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

7:31 p.m. on August 19, 2017 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,569 reviewer rep
1,335 forum posts

Robert

Welcome to Trailspace! While no expert on trekking poles, I converted to using them over a hiking stick about 4 years ago and haven't regretted it. I use the Black diamond alpine carbon cork. They are showing some handle wear after well over 600 miles of trail time but nothing that affects their comfort...in fact they seem to fit me even better now. The Flick Lock adjustment is solid and only has a tendency to come open occasionally in really heavy brush off trail.

The review page for trekking poles is sortable and has several great reviews...check out Patman's review of the ones I use.

7:44 p.m. on August 19, 2017 (EDT)
125 reviewer rep
3,264 forum posts

My advice: why do you think you even need them?  I have friends that got them, then stopped using them because they didn't improve travel on trails and served as a distraction.  It is my opinion hiking with pole user that poles often slow them down. 

Trekking poles came from the skiing, mountaineering communities and other extreme sports.  Walking a basic trail is not extreme!  REI and other retailers have aggressively promoted trekking poles because their compact size equates to high profits per square foot of retail space.  To some degree this also applies to water filters, but I digress.