Specs

Weight 1.05 oz / 30 g

Q&A

Have a question about coffee presses and filters? Get answers in the gear selection forum.

Reviews

The Jetboil Grande Coffee Press is a nice accessory,…

Rating: rated 4 of 5 stars
Source: received for testing via the Trailspace Review Corps (Sample provided by Jetboil for testing and review)

Summary

The Jetboil Grande Coffee Press is a nice accessory, increasing the functionality of an already feature-rich MiniMo. It utilizes the infrastructure of something you would be carrying otherwise (a stove/pot) with little weight penalty, a quality that is much appreciated in backpacking circles. If you’ve used a press before and value good coffee in the backcountry, you will like this.

Pros

  • Increases the functionality of a Jetboil system
  • Adaptable for both Sumo and MiniMo models
  • Pressed coffee tastes the best!
  • Easy to use in the backcountry
  • Lightweight and compact

Cons

  • Filter can mistakenly be assembled upside down
  • Still allows some grounds to get through

2015-03-29-08-56-38.jpg
Good coffee is a luxury and yet a necessity. OK, yes, I may be somewhat of a coffee snob. Though I keep it simple…just black, so the house brew at Starbucks is fine by me. At home, I use a press exclusively and always used to carry a lighter version into the backcountry. On occasion, I suffered through cowboy coffee and when desperation really hit, that horrid instant aberration (until Starbucks Via packets changed everything, but that’s another story).
2015-03-29-08-47-51.jpg

The Grande Coffee Press is nice addition to your Jetboil system, such as the MiniMo I tested mine with. It utilizes the Jetboil infrastructure that you’re already bringing along, with little weight penalty (under an ounce) for being able to make gourmet coffee in the backcountry.

The process is simple. 1. Heat water to desired temperature and remove from heat. 2. Add 2 tbsp of *good* coffee per 8 oz of water. 3. Stir and let brew for a few minutes. 4. Press and pour!
2015-03-29-08-54-32.jpg


2015-03-29-08-55-47.jpg2015-03-29-09-00-04.jpg
The pot can brew a full liter of coffee...which will serve 2-3 people.

The design allows for assembly and dis-assembly so that all will fit inside the Jetboil pot.


2014-11-23-08-44-35.jpg2014-11-23-08-44-49.jpg

But a word or caution, the filter can mistakenly be screwed onto the plunger upside down, which will result in cowboy coffee. I know this because I did this. After consulting the directions once again, I realized my mistake and all went smoothly after that. That's what I get for assuming such a simple device is, well, simple. I guess my extensive experience with coffee presses also gave me false confidence.

Perhaps Jetboil can make the orientation of the filter a little more obvious. Or just remember that the cautionary notes face UP.
2015-03-29-09-31-20.jpg2015-03-29-09-31-06.jpg

Also, I found it necessary to use the press in conjunction with the lid, otherwise it may plunge unevenly, allowing grinds to get through.

2015-03-29-09-31-52.jpg

Despite one's best efforts, there will always be a few grinds in the mix. Having made coffee with a press for so many years, I've simply become accustomed to this. All in all, it's a small price to pay for excellent-tasting coffee.
2015-03-29-09-14-20.jpg2015-03-29-09-12-53-2.jpg

The last thing I'll mention here is that if you are camping in an area that has a limited water supply, the press may not be your best option. This is simply because a degree of water is required to clean the grounds out of the pot and off the filter. Also, it takes more time to brew as opposed to just boiling water and adding a Starbucks Via packet.

Otherwise, this is a very simple, easy-to-use, functional product for coffee lovers.

Daniel Oates

Sometimes that morning cup'o'joe makes all the difference. Nice review, Lah!


4 years ago
Seth Levy TRAILSPACE STAFF

Nice review leah! I'm tweaking just reading it.


4 years ago

Where to Buy

sponsored links
Help support this site by making your next gear purchase through one of the links above. Click a link, buy what you need, and the seller will contribute a portion of the purchase price to support Trailspace's independent gear reviews.