Climbers Can Apply Now for 2008 Mugs Stump Award

Mugs Stump was one of this country's most prolific and visionary climbers until his death in a crevasse fall in Alaska in May, 1992. Best-known for his first ascent of the Emperor Face on Mount Robson in the Canadian Rockies and his triptych of brilliant Alaskan climbs – the East Face of the Moose's Tooth, the Moonflower Buttress on Mount Hunter, and a one-day solo of Denali's Cassin Ridge – Mugs was the complete climber, adept at all forms of the game. Both a dedicated athlete and a seeker after a higher truth beyond the physical manifestations of his sport, he saw climbing as a celebration of boldness, purity, and simplicity.

Sponsored by Patagonia, Inc., Black Diamond Equipment Ltd., Mountain Gear, Inc., W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. and PrimaLoft, the annual Mugs Stump Award helps support small teams tackling difficult climbs in the great mountains of the world. Climbs proposed should present an outstanding challenge, either a first ascent, significant repeat, or first alpine-style ascent; awards will be made to climbing teams whose plans best exemplify the philosophy of "fast, light, and clean," with special emphasis placed on climbers leaving no trace of their passage.


In 2008, the total grant money for the Mugs Stump Award will increase to $30,000 from the current level of $12,000. Grants of up to $2,000 (for trips to Alaska, South America, Europe, and other relatively low-cost areas) and of up to $6,000 (for more expensive Himalayan or Arctic ventures) will be awarded. Teams and individuals from North America attempting climbs between March 1, 2008, and February 28, 2009, are eligible.


Click on the link below to download the application. We encourage you to submit your application via email to (subject line “2008 Mugs Stump Application”); or mail 12 copies of your application to Kristo Torgersen, c/o Patagonia, 259 W. Santa Clara St., Ventura, CA 93001.

Applications for the 2008 Mugs Stump Award will be accepted from October 1 through November 30, 2007. The awards will be announced by January 31, 2008.

Download Application

Filed under: People & Organizations


There are no comments.

This post has been locked and is not accepting new comments