bushnell gps

7:59 p.m. on June 7, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
22 forum posts

I got a bushnell onix 350 gps for a graduation present last year......and just now started messing with it....im havin some problems tryin to access bushnells website for downloading topo's on it....im kinda new to gps as it is, having always favored a map and compass.....can you download topo's from any site onto a gps? thanks

9:16 p.m. on June 7, 2012 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,430 reviewer rep
5,311 forum posts

First thing to note is that the Onix is a discontinued model. Plus Bushnell has discontinued the satphoto downloads, though they continue their topographic map downloads for their various models.

Bushnell has 8 current models, including 3 of their Backtrack series. The other 5 do, like the Onix, have capability of downloading Bushnell's proprietary topographic maps. I have no real experience with their "real" GPSRs (just a little playing around with 2 of the "real" models enough to get a feel of what they would do, but no actual long-term usage). The Backtrack series is intended only as an ultrasimple device to record your outbound travel and then retrace it back to the car, trailhead, campsite, or whatever starting point. Trailspace (Alicia and I) offered to review their original Backtracker a couple years ago at the Outdoor Retailer Show, but their response was that they would sell one to Trailspace at a slight discount (almost all companies are willing to provide gear on a short period loan for review, with the understanding that we "tell it like it is, for better or worse." - I was very unimpressed with the on-the-spot 10 minute demonstration).

To deal with your direct question:

can you download topo's from any site onto a gps?

The short answer is "only Bushnell's own proprietary topo maps".