Hiking Boots & Sore (!) Toes

6:06 p.m. on July 24, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. grblulin, Greg

Ok all you experienced trail stompers out there, I need your constructive advice/input.

I recently completed a hike in a new pair of Merrill Blast boots. I was all excited, because this was my first real pair of hiking boots, replacing the old Kmart work boots I used to use. Boy was I disappointed . . .

They were fine on the 2.5 mile ascent of Round Mt. in the Adirondacks. It was on the descent that the trouble started. They caused sharp pain in my big toes/toenails. By the end I was grimacing out loud with every downward stride. I now have very ugly purple and sore toenail beds.

I had on a pair of medium weight synthetic blend socks. I don't attribute this problem to lack of breaking in. My guess is that the boots are a bit too large(long).

What's your take on all this??

7:08 p.m. on July 24, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

The boots are probably 1/2 size too small. I'm far from a pro on boot fitting, but know from past experience that this was the case for me.

The downhill forces your foot to move forward in the boot, allowing your toes to contact the front of the boot, thus a lot of weight is being put into your toes.

If your sure your boot is fitted correctly, maybe it's your lacing technique.

ag

7:11 p.m. on July 24, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

Better a bit too large then a bit too small!
Lace them tight when going down...
Another pair or socks perhaps?

Feel better...

9:43 p.m. on July 24, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

Sounds like boots are either too small or improperly fitted.
Again I must sing the praises of the Oren Fit System...: )
Try to find a shop that uses it and have your boots fitted there, and you will not have this problem again.
Hopefully the place you got your new boots from has a good return policy...

I just did an overnighter in Teva sandals, 'cause I forgot my boots and didn't realize it till I got to the trailhead!