Wilderness Safety

9:45 p.m. on April 5, 2013 (EDT)
284 reviewer rep
140 forum posts

I'm not a expert and I feel if I learn something new everyday it will make my day or plans go better.  I found this on youtube and I feel it has very good information about first aid in the wilderness.  I have been lucky or careful or little of both, but this video help me learn something new.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gy1EzaRPPc4

10:30 a.m. on April 6, 2013 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,131 forum posts

Except for sprained ankles and the like, the worst injuries I have seen in the back country were related to running rapids and people getting bucked off horses and mules.  The further you get from a dirt road the more careful you have to be.

In the case of running rivers.  Some rapids should be portaged or lined in remote country that might be run closer to home.

11:23 a.m. on April 6, 2013 (EDT)
210 reviewer rep
179 forum posts

I agree; after years of carrying a rather large medical kit into the bush, the only injuries that have occurred were the odd pulled muscle. I have since adjusted the content of my kit to match the realities of my travels. As for canoeing, I have portaged or lined almost every rapid I have come to with rare exception. Since I normally travel solo, and long before Spot and its like, no one knew where I was at any given time. So waiting for a rescue was not an option. Also, the places I frequent, a damaged canoe and lost gear can mean starvation and death.

1:15 p.m. on April 7, 2013 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
843 forum posts

looks like a good video. I didn't watch the whole thing, but she seemed very knowledgeable. I carry a suture kit in my first aid kit, that is the only specialized item I have. the rest I do with duct tape and aspirin.

11:06 a.m. on April 8, 2013 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,131 forum posts

North sounds to me more and more like he knows what he is talking about.  "No one ever died on a portage."