looking for suggestions on a 7 day backcountry hike

10:07 p.m. on June 8, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

hey i'm new to Trailspace. very cool.

i'm turning 50 in a couple years and am planning to give myself a "present" of a challenging 7 day trek somewhere out west. i'm an experienced backpacker and have wilderness survival training. not to come across cocky but hoping to find a trip that's not just a stroll down a worn path campsite to campsite. was thinking maybe glacier in Montana but that's just because i've always wanted to visit that park. i'm ok with bear country. my experience is mostly back east so i"d love to learn more about all the options out west.

would love some thoughts. thanks!!!!!

11:19 p.m. on June 8, 2013 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,555 forum posts

Welcome Thor,

I think we must be about the same age, I will be 48 in September.

I can't offer any advise about out west since my experience is limited to the southeast US, but I wanted to welcome you anyhow.

I don't like simple campsite to campsite trails either, at least not from the standpoint of challenging myself. I do those trails a lot of the time because I love being outdoors or being with friends, but I really love to go solo off trail.

I think there are a good number of other Trailspace members who feel similarly and / or can also offer you some good advise about places west.

Mike G.

7:25 a.m. on June 9, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
15 forum posts

Just do the john muir trail, and you'll not regret it.  my wife and I hike lastyear.  she's 57 and I'm 64, and its a spectacular piece of cake, and should be on any ones must do list!  The weather is almost guaranteed spectacular, every corner, vista, horizon is sensational and breathtaking.  no regrets!

7:30 a.m. on June 9, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
15 forum posts