Dayhike Boots Advice Needed

12:56 p.m. on February 21, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

After slipping on mud two hikes ago, and twisting my ankle on my last hike, I've realized I need better boots to compensate for my lack of balance and weak ankles. I am a novice day-hiker; day hikes of not usually more than 8 mi in the Sierra foothills. Terrain can be rocky and slippery. After extensive on-line shopping, I'm looking at the Vasque Exodus 2 Mid or Exodus 3. Really cheap as they're closeouts. My criteria is really sticky bottoms and ankle support. BTW, I'm female, and carry a light backpack. Any thoughts on the Exodus boot? Thanks for your patience with this long post.

7:33 a.m. on February 22, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

Quote:

After slipping on mud two hikes ago, and twisting my ankle on my last hike, I've realized I need better boots to compensate for my lack of balance and weak ankles. I am a novice day-hiker; day hikes of not usually more than 8 mi in the Sierra foothills. Terrain can be rocky and slippery. After extensive on-line shopping, I'm looking at the Vasque Exodus 2 Mid or Exodus 3. Really cheap as they're closeouts. My criteria is really sticky bottoms and ankle support. BTW, I'm female, and carry a light backpack. Any thoughts on the Exodus boot? Thanks for your patience with this long post.

Do you use a hiking staff? Even using one will aid your stability enormously, especially in muddy going. Your ankles will strengthen with use - running will help here as well. I am not familiar with the Exodus, but I am a real fan of other Vasque models I have worn. Vasque, however, is just one of several very good manufacturers...

10:35 a.m. on February 22, 2002 (EST)
30 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts
Got my wife the Vasque Vista GTX boots. She loves 'em!

n/m

11:59 a.m. on February 22, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

Thanks for the reply, Ed and Hikerdon. Yup, poles are my next investment.

10:14 p.m. on February 22, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Don M, Don Morris, Don P. Morris

Quote: