Where to put tent in Terraplane?

4:40 p.m. on February 25, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

After a few years of using an old external frame, I broke down and bought a Terraplane LTW. I am getting ready to take it out on its first trip, but was wondering about how to pack the tent. Where do you guys put it? I understand most people put the tent and fly into a compression bag and strap the poles to the outside of the pack. I am nervous about the tent poles being on the outside of the pack and getting bent. Any ideas or is this a risk I just need to live with?

Many thanks,

Steve

7:29 p.m. on February 25, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

Steve - I have been carrying my poles on the outside to the pack for many years now with no problems. When bundled together, you are not going to do much damage to series 6K or 7K aluminum.
as for the tent body & fly, In my astralplane, I keep the tent body in the sleeping bag compartment and the fly at the top of the pack. Comes in handy in a quick storm to wait it out under some sort of shelter thsat you can quickly rig with some string, trees and hiking poles.

If it is summer and I am using a small 40 degree down bag, I keep the whole tent (less poles)in the bottom of the pack and the sleeping bag sitts above it.

Your best bet is to try it and see over the next 5-6 trips - See what is comfortable and easiest to get to.

Quote:

After a few years of using an old external frame, I broke down and bought a Terraplane LTW. I am getting ready to take it out on its first trip, but was wondering about how to pack the tent. Where do you guys put it? I understand most people put the tent and fly into a compression bag and strap the poles to the outside of the pack. I am nervous about the tent poles being on the outside of the pack and getting bent. Any ideas or is this a risk I just need to live with?

Many thanks,

Steve

2:15 p.m. on February 26, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Scott, Scott M