About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

military sleeping bags

12:51 p.m. on December 20, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

I am new to backpacking and am looking for a sleeping bag to
use until I am sure this is the sport for me and mine. The
military bags are darn cheap at ebay and I thought maybe
I would try them. The only problem I see is that they are
bulky and heavy for backpacking. I am not as concerned about
this as I am their water retention characteristics and their
warmth. If you have experience with these please respond.

5:43 p.m. on December 20, 2002 (EST)
(Guest)

Military sleeping bags - I wouldn't

The weight and bulk will likely be more of a concern than you may think it will be. Nothing is more frustrating than trying to force a sleeping bag to go into a smaller space than it wants to be in. My wife nearly ended up in tears on our first backpacking trip after her sleeping bag popped out of its (too small) bag for about the 100th time. A compression sack could help, but even stuffing a sleeping bag into a compression sack can be a pain sometimes.

You could always get one of the lighter military bags (not the "extreme cold" ones) that might not be so heavy and bulky. I for one, was never thrilled with the military bags, however. They never looked terribly well-made, but I haven't looked one over carefully in several years. Maybe things have changed.

Instead of buying a bag, you might want to rent one first. You don't say where you're from, but if you're near an REI, you can rent sleeing bags there. Many universities have outdoor recreation programs and will rent to non-students for a slightly higher fee. Then you'll have an idea of what you like and don't like about sleeping bags.