bivys for added insulation?

10:51 a.m. on February 25, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Kate, solaceseeker

I am new to winter camping in the Cdn. Rockies, and am looking for a relatively lightweight way to increase the temperature rating of my sleeping bag. I have a SD down bag rated to -15C, and being a cold sleeper, I need something to increase the warmth. I already use a Polartec fleece bag liner, and I have heard that adding a bivy will increase warmth greatly. Any comments on this would be appreciated!

Kate

11:48 a.m. on February 25, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

a.k.a. MattJ, matt_j

I don't think you will be able to see that much of a difference. Bivys are used as element protection not as much as a temperature control units. I own Moutain Hardwear bivy for my bag and that really only protects me from the rain and wetness of the ground. Why don't you try using a second fleece liner? Also a lot of people that complain about their bags being not sufficient are not really taking care of their ground insulation. Just my $0.02.

Matt

1:44 p.m. on February 25, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

>Why don't you try using a second fleece liner? Also a lot of people that complain about their bags being not sufficient are not really taking care of their ground insulation.<

This could be the real answer for you and not a bivy sack (though I, admitedly, do not use or know much about bivy sacks). What type of pad do you use? Other ideas are to cover your bag with your coat and to put your morning's clothes under your bag as additional layers of insulation(yeah, I know, some people put their clothes in their bag).

2:39 p.m. on February 25, 2003 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,430 reviewer rep
5,311 forum posts
-15F bag for Can Rockies????

Kate -