Best place in British Columbia to live off the land

8:10 p.m. on February 21, 2006 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I am sick of chemicals in everything I eat and breathe and Im tired of society. Im planning to move to the bush where i can live in a treehouse and simply hunt , bird watch and fish all day. I dont plan to carry a gun (dont have license dont wanna get one). I would just like to know the best place in British Columbia to do this. Water is the main problem but Im not really experienced so I dont know.

8:27 p.m. on February 21, 2006 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
391 forum posts

I think we just went through this, but, I will give the short answer just for fun. Unless, you are currently a Canadian citizen or legal landed immigrant, you CANNOT just move to British Columbia and live where you please. We have immigration regulations (not nearly strict enough) and you must meet these BEFORE you can live in any part of Canada.

You cannot ...live off the land...here, the fisheries, both aquatic and marine, are very tightly regulated as is hunting for ANY animal. The climate is wet, very cold and harsh, people frequently die of hypothermia on hiking trips in the most mild parts of B.C. and the winters in the interior will kill you, very dam quickly.

I am a member of a pioneer B.C. family, grew up in the wilderness of the Kootenays, have 50 years of backcountry experience here and have lived in the most remote wilderness areas of this Province, alone, for months at a time. However, this was as an employee of the Provincial Government in resource management agencies with some logistical support and in the warmer half of the year. I have lived in mountain tents, in the winter, for up to six weeks at a time in the bush and this takes experience, skill and a certain type of personality, it is NOT for novices from urban areas in foreign countries.