Taking suggestions for tents and backpacks

2:47 p.m. on May 13, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Another newbie here. I have done a fair amount of car camping but I have no real backpacking experience or gear yet. What camping gear I have will be to heavy for backpacking. I expect to be doing mostly solo trips, consisting of weekends and 2 or 3 trips a year of 4-6 days in length starting in early spring and ending in early winter with snow possible.(I have seen 4-6 inches).
I prefer the solitude of one person tents even if more people are making the trip. There are no shops in my area(a Gander Mountain but not much selection)to get much hands on time with these products so I have been reading on the net several hours a day for over a week reading product reviews and studying gear. I am comfortable with my other gear choices except these two items.
For a tent now I am favoring a Kelty Quartz 1, a 4 season one person tent like this

http://www.rei.com/online/store/ProductDisplay?storeId=8000&catalogId=40000008000&productId=47819816

It should be as warm and waterproof as a tent can be. I would like to hear from anybody that has experience with this tent or others of this type(solo or small 2 person 4 season tent).

The backpack will be a tougher item. I am 5'10 and currently 225 pounds. My torso lenth seems to be about 22 to 22.5 inches long. This length evedently makes me a hard fit. In my area I have found only a few quality packs to try and they were a Rokk Talkeetna, a Kelty Red Cloud 5600, a Kelty Commanche, and a Jansport Humbold (sp?). All were large size packs designed to fit up to 22 inches. The hip belts all hit me at the top of my pelvic bones rather than a little lower where I think they should be. The best fit of course was the pack I liked the least due to the extra zippers and strap on pockets, the Jansport.