Backcountry Meetings

8:44 p.m. on October 23, 2007 (EDT)
(Guest)

I was wondering if someone can explain the dynamics of meeting people in the backcountry.

I guess it is obvious that I am new to backpacking. I have done a lot of car camping and explored the area on day trips. I have been fortunate enough not to run into anyone.

Anyway, I have been reading the forum trying to decide if I am going to take a firearm with me when I go. I don't want to debate the pro's and con's of guns. There are plenty of threads about that already. In the other threads people mention "bad experiences" that they have had when meeting strangers and I was curious to know what happened and how it was handled.

I live in Baltimore and have been the victim of crime one way or another at least once every year. My wife is a prosecutor and we watch a lot of those true crime stories plus I get to hear all of the strange and wicked people do to each other here in the area. I just don't want to be a situation out in the middle of nowhere, at least the police are around in the city - even if it takes them hours to respond to a call.

9:24 p.m. on October 23, 2007 (EDT)
25 reviewer rep
123 forum posts

I have never felt threatend by a person in the wild. I don't think you need a gun. in fact 99% of people i've encounterd in the wilds hyave been a joy to meet! I think most criminals who are out to hurt people go where there is people not in the woods. Baltimore even with the police is probably 50 times more dangerous!

9:30 p.m. on October 23, 2007 (EDT)
25 reviewer rep
123 forum posts