Finding local hikers?

12:44 p.m. on May 27, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Just wondering what the best way to find local hikers would be? I am very new to hiking, never hiked before in fact, and would love to jump in but I would like to meet and maybe do some hikes with folks that have a little more experience at the beginning. There are no outdoor stores in my local area so I am not sure where to start my search. I live in the eastern panhandle of WV FYI.

3:07 p.m. on May 27, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
171 forum posts

Your local chapter of the Sierra Club, if there is one, may be the best bet. http://westvirginia.sierraclub.org

6:07 p.m. on May 27, 2008 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,478 forum posts

Hey Nubster, rexim is right, I always tell people the best thing to do is find a local hiking club or group. That way you are off having fun with people who are experienced and can give you good advise that is relevant to your area. Also pay attention to the types of gear they have selected and don't hesitate to ask them to tell you about it. I have met very few hikers / backpackers who are reluctant to give you a complete inventory and what they like / dislike about their selections.

6:34 p.m. on May 27, 2008 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,478 forum posts

http://www.potomacappalachian.org/ This is the address to the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club, they have a West "By God" Virginia chapter.

12:41 p.m. on May 28, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
169 forum posts

Most colleges and universities have outting clubs - they tend to do different levels of hikes and trips. If nothing else they'll have information about local trails and local outdoors clubs.

You could volunteer some time with a local BSA troop - they tend to go on hikes and you'll get that golden glow that accompanies helping the youth of America learn to appreciate the outdoors!