Has your passion become your success?

8:32 p.m. on December 30, 2008 (EST)
19 reviewer rep
160 forum posts

This should spawn an interesting discussion. I know a few of you have had lives that have afforded you the ability for adventure. So the question here is, has your love for all things outdoors become a part of your career/business/enterprising endeavors/success?

11:08 p.m. on December 30, 2008 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
968 reviewer rep
3,470 forum posts

I worked as a fishing guide for three seasons years ago, quite frankly it didn't pay enough to keep my interest as a profession.
I do however take my employees (usually 4 or 5) on a backpacking trip every spring and pick up the tab. That's about as close as I get to mixing passion with business right now.
Well, that and we build the occasional remote cabin in the mountains and have to camp out during construction.

7:43 a.m. on December 31, 2008 (EST)
110 reviewer rep
762 forum posts

From www.carboneec.org

As a naturalist, wildlife rehabilitator, and outdoor educator who works with kids from 3 to 93, YES, YES, YES, my love for animals and the outdoors has indeed become part of my career. In fact, the outdoors IS my career.

My job includes hiking, biking, kayaking, whitewater rafting, climbing (tree and rock), plot study, stream/pond study (to look for macro invertebrates) wildlife tracking, survival education, Leave No Trace education, raptor migration counts, an LOTS more.

From www.carboneec.org

One day as I loaded my pack, tree climbing rack, Mt. bike, and various other equipment on and into my car, my neighbor asked if I was going on a trip. "Naw", I said. "Going to work". My neighbor just lowered his eyes, tossed his brief case into his car, and drove away. It was that moment that made me realize how lucky I am to be doing what I do. Oh yeah, my neighbor's commute is over 45 minutes. Mine is 1.5 minutes by car, 20 on foot.