Thirteen year old to attempt Everest

11:54 p.m. on April 6, 2010 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,280 forum posts

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100406/ap_on_re_us/us_teenage_mountaineer Good to encourage the kid to achieve greatness, but I think lack of parental wisdom is apparent. There are plenty of less dangerous peaks to groom the kid’s skills on in the mean time. He has a whole life to achieve his dreams; I don’t understand the imprudent rush, unless perhaps the father fears he’ll be too old to do these thing with his son, later, when both know more about what they are getting themselves into. If that is the case, well dad needs to find other oppertunities to bond
Ed

2:07 a.m. on April 7, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
983 reviewer rep
3,470 forum posts

I hesitate to comment here as I have no real mountaineering experience, but just speaking as someone who used to be that age, I doubt that any 14 year old has enough life experience or maturity to grasp the gravity of the decision.

I would like to hear what those with experience think.

7:23 a.m. on April 7, 2010 (EDT)
27 reviewer rep
95 forum posts

Well, he has bagged some pretty big peaks. I would imagine someone in their 30's who had the same climbing experience would feel capable of summitting Everest.

That being said, since becoming a father I know I wouldn't let my son climb Everest at such a young age.

10:18 a.m. on April 7, 2010 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,424 reviewer rep
1,283 forum posts

Outside magazine recently wrote a story about him. On the plus side, this boy already summited Denali and Aconcagua, so he has some big mountain, high-altitude experience. I wonder how many clients on guided Everest climbs have that kind of experience under their belt. The boy's age may affect his decision-making in an emergency situation, but because he has such unusual experience, I'm not sure how meaningful a concern this is.