Heat stroke signs and sympotoms in humans and dogs

11:59 a.m. on June 24, 2010 (EDT)
25 reviewer rep
67 forum posts

With summer here and it looks like record temps already I wanted to address the heat safety with everyone and offer some links to a product that will help you your children and pets stay cool on the trail. The product is “Polar” personal cooling gear, I have used these for over 10 years and I swear by them so do my dogs I use these around the farm and always when I am on the trail I even have one for my trail horse and pack horse here is the link please take a moment to look at these products for the price, under $10.00 bucks for the human neck wraps you cannot beat them http://www.polar-products.com/index.php Now with that said I want to address the signs of heat exhaustion and heat stroke and what to do if for them, I am not a Dr. but I am a volunteer firefighter/paramedic and I volunteer with my local fire dept and with the a Shenandoah, VA SAR teams so here is some heat related info:

Heat Stroke in Humans
Temperature and humidity levels are rising, and our bodies have cooling mechanisms—how do they work and what should we do if they can’t keep up?