Solo hiking

10:42 p.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I am new to hiking and I do everything solo because there is no one to go with. I want to go out and hike and stay a night but where I live there are lots of bears and not that many people around. Is there a way I can keep them away for sure or avoid encounters with them while I am sleeping or wandering down a trail?

12:22 a.m. on July 22, 2010 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,245 reviewer rep
1,305 forum posts

Others may say differently, but IMO the chances of encountering bears aren't a factor of whether you're alone or not. I've read at least as many stories of group encounters with bears as solo encounters. Bear encounters seem to be typically more of an issue with food storage and keeping anything "fragrant" safely stowed away and completely away from anything that goes near your tent.

Although I have no experience with them personally, from what I've read here and elsewhere, the one exception would be grizzlies, since apparently they view humans as potential food.

In what area will you be backpacking?

12:41 a.m. on July 22, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
34 forum posts

I think it might help us if you posted where you're hiking. From what I've read and experienced, bears behave differently based on your location. Plus there are the differences between species, Black bears and Brown/grizzly bears. Very different animals which you have to react differently to.

For example, the bears I've experienced in SW Pennsylvania seem more skittish than the bears in Shenandoah National Park. I'd think that bears in any National Park or protected area would be bolder. That doesn't mean they're dangerous, just that you may have to take different precautions. I haven't felt "scared" yet, just cautious and on-edge. But it's a big, powerful omnivore and I'm part of the "omni" ;-)