Canister Stoves Exploding

2:52 p.m. on September 9, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

I have been hearing that using a traditional windscreen on a canister stove set-up (msr superfly for example). I was wondering if this is substantiated in anyway or if it is just a potential hazard that won't actually happen. Not wanting to try it myself I was wondering if anyone has had any unfortunate experience with this problem?

6:39 p.m. on September 9, 2010 (EDT)
225 reviewer rep
4,371 forum posts

I have never heard in 34 years of a canister tank exploding. I have been using them since 1978. And in winter or windy conditions I usually set up a wind break or wrap a shirt around the canister.

6:47 p.m. on September 9, 2010 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,861 reviewer rep
1,328 forum posts

It is not just a rumor or hype. Your stove can and will explode! I have witnessed this first hand, and have heard many more tales of people having it happen to them.

It all depends on the exact conditions at the time, but this is a very real risk. The stove that I "witnessed" explode was at a trailhead camping area , the other group that was there darn near gave me a heart attack. It sounded like a claymore going off. They were about 20 yards away or so from me so I didn't see the whole thing unfold play by play, but they were using a windscreen with a pocket rocket to pan fry trout. And after doing several fish is when it happened. From all of the accounts I have heard of, it usually happens around 8+ minutes of use i.e. cooking a large meal or for a long period of time.

I had just been back in the states for about 2 weeks since returning from deployment, and I swear it sounded like a claymore. I hit the dirt and glad I did because some of the sharpnel from the canister went into the tent behind me.

The instructions that came with your canister stove specifically say not to use a windscreen. And the same statement is there on all brands of canister stoves that I am aware of.