Help create new UL gear AND help a student!

2:40 p.m. on October 8, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

Hello everyone!
I'm Dan (or Tabasco, if we're doing trail-names) and I'm an engineering student looking to gauge interest in a project my group and I are working on.
If you could take this very short survey it would help out greatly. The survey can be found here.
You'll be helping out with creating some cool new UL backpacking gear.
Thanks for the help- it means a lot to us!
-Dan

10:40 p.m. on October 8, 2010 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,077 forum posts

I filled out a survey.

6:31 a.m. on October 9, 2010 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,280 forum posts

Dan, you have to let us know when beta testing volunteers are needed. Also when your product hits the market.
Ed

11:05 a.m. on October 9, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

Thanks for the help guys!

We will be sure to let you all know when we're in the testing phase. We're close to the White Mountains in NH so if anyone is in the area and is able to test it. If our budget allows it, we may even give you all some reimbursement for testing and feedback. We'll stay in contact.

12:48 p.m. on October 9, 2010 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,077 forum posts

I notice the main question in the survey is about camp chairs, are you designing a new chair. I use a Crazy Creek chair and a tripod style chair both. But don't carry both on all trips. I like the Therm-a-Rest idea of having the cover that the pad fits into to make a chair. But it came out years after I have had my Crazy Creek one.

9:16 p.m. on October 9, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

We are designing a new chair. Our idea is to design a chair out of items already brought in a backpack. Our hope is that by using trekking poles as supports and either a stuff sack or pack cover as seat material each component of the chair will serve multiple purposes. This way, you won't need to bring any additional weight (or a very small amount) to have a chair with you.