Need advice for JMT this early July

12:02 a.m. on April 29, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
12 forum posts

Hi there, I am new here so please be gentle with me... Any suggestion is highly appreciated!

I plan to hike the JMT this early July and need some advices from experienced JMT hikers. I am a landscape photography hobbyist and have to carry ~15 lbs extra weigh of gears, so although I have really thought hard on the gear and food I need to carry,  seems it is almost impossible for me to cut the weigh of my pack below 50 lbs. Doing landscape photography means I can't walk fast anyway (need wait for the lighting), so I guess the weigh might not be a big issue.

My questions are:

1. temperature condition: how cold it can be in high passes in the night? I plan to layer with a Arc'teryx beta AR hardshell, Arc'teryx atom LT hoody as middle and icebreaker 260 as base, is this combo enough for the night when I am doing night photography?

2. do I need crampon (or Yaktrax) in early July for high passes?

3. Do I really need a bear spray? (another 10 oz of weigh that I really don't want to carry.)

4. what's the average weigh for people on JMT carry? I saw pictures of hikers on JMT with incredibly small pack with obviously no bear canister, and probably doesn't even have enough space to hold more than 4~5 day's food, I am really amazed. How could they do it?

5. Stream crossing: any really challenging ones?

Any comments and suggestions are very welcome. Thanks in advance! 

5:05 p.m. on April 29, 2011 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
207 forum posts

I have only hike sections of the trail but since no one else has replied yet I'll make a few comments. I know there are some on here with more JMT experience than me and hopfully they will post up.