Packs

3:12 a.m. on January 22, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Hey guys, I'm new to backpacking (been on a few overnight trips) and I'm really digging it. I have a Kelty 50L bag but I'm afraid that that won't be large enough for the multi-day trips that my friends and I are planning. What size bag would you suggest for a trip lasting no more than a week?

I am a broke 18 year old college student so price is always an issue. I bought my Kelty bag from REI so when the times comes for me to purchase a new pack, I will have store credit (about $110). I also need a new sleeping bag because the one I am currently using is an old car sleeping bag that is so bulky I have to strap it to the outside of my bag with bungee chords (what a joke, right?).  Any suggestions on that? Where to find cheap bags, what brands to buy, etc.

I was looking online and I found an Everest bag for fairly cheap.  I can't find any consumer reviews for Everest bags so I was wondering if you could tell me whether or not they are good quality and whatnot.  

Thanks in advance!

7:42 a.m. on January 22, 2012 (EST)
30 reviewer rep
1,240 forum posts

I recently found the Kelty Coyote 80 (replacement for the 4750) for $99.95 + shipping

8:09 a.m. on January 22, 2012 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
1,861 reviewer rep
1,319 forum posts

This is a hard question to answer as it really depends on all the other gear you own. I would highly recommend taking all of your gear to an outfitter and see what packs are comfortable and hold all of your gear. but as a rough estimate I would say more than likely a 70+L pack. the Kelty coyote is a good budget pack and are frequently on sale.

11:45 a.m. on January 22, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
913 forum posts