About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Traveling for Extender Period of Time (6 months to a year)

11:36 a.m. on April 9, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hi I am new to Trailspace so I will start off with a small introduction. My name is Jake, I'm 21 years old and currently live in Orlando, Florida. I am taking a year off of college to travel around and WWOOF (Worldwide Working Opportunities on Organic Farms)so I can have at least food and water provided for me in exchange for work. As a majority of backpackers I am trying to keep my pack light, but more importantly to me, have some durable equipment. I will be traveling throughout Central America (June, July, August), South America (September, October, November, December), and Africa, (January, February, March). I have been looking online and been trying to find some gear that fits that criteria and have had success in doing so but I would love to also get some advice from knowledgeable individuals. I don't really have a budget limit as I have been saving up for this journey for quite some time but it would be favorable to not be spending an overwhelming amount on money on equipment (unless it would be a drastic increase durability and favorability). Some places do offer living quarters but a majority of them do not. I am aware of what I am getting myself into and have a decent background in spending 2 months on end in the woods. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much, have an awesome day.

12:07 p.m. on April 9, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
908 forum posts

What gear do you have currently? A detailed list would be very helpful. Usually you trade durability for lightness. Also how much actual hiking will you do vs. hitchhiking or staying in one place.

12:19 p.m. on April 9, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts