Toes are Bruised, why?

12:04 p.m. on July 11, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hi there - my husband and I have been hiking for about 3 months now.  Mostly small hikes (5-10 miles) but we are hooked and can not get enough and plan on getting more serious about it.  Because we were not sure how serious we would get with hiking, we didn't invest in expensive boots, but your average boot from the local Big 5 store.  We took our time buying them, and we think they fit well.  For the most part, I have no soreness in my feet when i'm done, unless I'm going down hill.  I keep my toe nails clipped, wear special breathable socks and I can actually job in these boots.  The minute I go down hill, I feel the pressure on my toes and by the time I'm done, my feet hurt for two days.  Recently, my big toe on my right foot and my pinky on m left are bruised.  The grey/black bruising color on my right toe never goes away and just changes shades.  I thought I had a fungus as first but after going to the doctor they said it was "trama" Do you think it's ill fitted boots?  They don't feel too small but one problem I do have is I can't sinch down the laces near the toes as best as I could and based on blogs that I've been reading, that could be an issue.  Anybody else ever experienced bruised toes? 

12:25 p.m. on July 11, 2012 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Hey delgadopd, welcome to Trailspace.

Toe issues eh? First and foremost I would go with the trama to your toes being caused by toe bang. 

This typically happens with a boot that doesn't fit properly when one is descending. When you add a pack to your back the added weight exacerbates this issue.

What is happening is your foot is sliding forward making contact with the front of your footwear which results in the trama you are experiencing. 

A few things might be causing this:

• The boot is too short for your feet in regards to length.