first multi day trip

3:57 p.m. on September 5, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
42 forum posts

I am new to the multi day camping and have a used 2 person tent was going to take on a 2 day trip (i have done 9 mile day hikes and now getting ready for a 2 day and then a multi day).I have heard there should be no food smells in tent for bear safety.I am not sure if my purchased used tent ever had food eaten or cooked in for that matter.should i purchase a new tent or since i live where there are hardly any bear sightings and if there are it is black bear country the used one will suffice? (there are no smells i can tell but from what i hear bears have acute smellers)thank you in advance for your help and any other advice is welcome.for my day hikes i carry a 15 pound pack so am quessing 2 day trip should be around 20 to 22 pound pack as i will only need to add tent sleeping bag.

4:04 p.m. on September 5, 2012 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

Just sweep out the tent.  Unless it has obvious food and grease stains, you should not have a problem.

Ed

5:23 p.m. on September 5, 2012 (EDT)
1,357 reviewer rep
1,339 forum posts

I gave my tent its annual rinse (lukewarm water in the bathtub) last night. The smell of wood smoke and sweat was getting just a bit too strong after a season. Tents are made to handle water, and as long as you don't use soap and make sure it's completely dry before re-packing it you should be fine.

That being said, Ed's probably right. Unless the previous owners dumped a plateful of food inside, you shouldn't have a problem.

Not quite sure how you figure your pack will be only an extra 5-7 lbs, though, if you add the tent and a sleeping bag. How much does each of them weigh? But more importantly, what else will you need/want to bring? How about a thermarest to sleep on? What about a fleece or sweater for cool evenings? How about your rain gear?