just curious, are friends correct saying do other work outs for backpacking?

2:57 p.m. on September 7, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
42 forum posts

in addition to my tent question which you were all so kind to answer out of curiosity wondered if any one else does weight work outs or other workouts for backpacking? I have been doing a light weights work out for a about 6 months when i started the day hikes but finding with my time available i seem to be fitting in more hiking and less other work outs (im sure it doesnt help that i do not enjoy the other work outs) i walk to work and back most days (6 miles total to keep backpack fit) and when i can the longer day hikes but friends are telling me with getting ready for first multi day i need the weights work out, lunges and mountain climber leg exercise. seems the hiking is enough itself to keep in shape for hiking but just wondering what everyone else does :)

4:08 p.m. on September 7, 2012 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

I submit to lots of walking, and cardio workouts like cycling or steep uphill walks.  When the departure day approaches, throw on a weighted pack a week ahead of time when doing the walks to acclimate your body to this abuse.

Walking itself for exercise will allow you to take short backpack jaunts, but you will not fell so good afterward.  Longer hikes with such a limited fitness regimen will just feel miserable. 

Ed

4:16 p.m. on September 7, 2012 (EDT)
1,357 reviewer rep
1,339 forum posts

The best training for any particular form of exercise is doing the exercise. Besides, if you're not enjoying the other workouts, why bother?

Go hiking, but increase the weight, time, elevation and distance gradually. I'd concentrate on the aspects that will let you build up your legs.