Complete Newbie!!

3:22 a.m. on June 7, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

Hello all and thanks for taking the time to read and hopefully respond to this post!

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to hiking- backpacking. However, I have purchased, over the last year or so, all the equipment I think i will be needing for a 5-7 day trip into the backcountry of california/oregon/washington. My dillema is that i dont know how to navigate in the backwoods and I dont really know what to expect... I have done my share of camping and day hikes but I'm suspecting its going to be alot tougher out there when Im a few days out. Any help, recommendations and/or advice would be greatly appreciated!
I am very passionate about this undertaking and determined to become quite the adept backpacker. Not too much needed on the medical aspect as I am a Paramedic but any backcountry/med tips would be helpfull.

Go ahead... Im ready for the flames ...but you gotta start somewhere right?

TIA to all who reply!
Jerry

5:01 a.m. on June 7, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

Re: Me too!

Hi Jerry,

Welcome to the forum. I too am a greenhorn in this backpacking thing. I have many day hikes under my belt but have never tried backpacking. You have come to the right place for some great advice and tips. There is a lot of backcountry wisdom and knowledge to be gained here. This is one of the best sites on the web!

I am supposed to go this weekend. Gonna rain, but I guess I'm still going for it.

Hikergirl

11:17 a.m. on June 7, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. G.L., Greased Lightning, Irv