Please give me tent advice (issues with 2 tents--do I need a different one?)

9:19 p.m. on January 1, 2013 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello! I'm a beginner when it comes to winter (in NorthCal) and rain camping. Only camped during summer before.

I'm camping alone (need 4-6 pers. tent for comfort though), and my tent must be easily set up by one person. So I went ahead and bought Mountain Hardwear 4 pers. tent for this--it's over 6 feet at the top. I like how spacious it is (though vestibules seem to be too small). The issue is that when I did a test set up--in SF Bay area on top of a hill, dry December day--but rained 2 days before that--on a grassy area, but DID put heavy duty tarp under--in 4 hours tent rain fly filled with condensation in the inside....tent was empty--I was not in it at all. Also, rain fly and doors were open for ventilation. Why is there condensation?--does it sound like something is wrong with that tent and not the right model for winter conditions??

I have also smaller Eureka tent using which in rain storm resulted in me sleeping in wet sleeping bag (luckily synthetic) and tons of water everywhere. 

Now I'm thinking if I should return Mountain Hardwear Corners and get Cabela 4-season Alaskan Guide tent instead (pricing is similar and height is similar, with Corners being much easier to set up though)

What do you think? Any advice for me? 

This is for base camp type of tents, not backpacking ones--for prolonged stay in car campground.

9:49 p.m. on January 1, 2013 (EST)
65 reviewer rep
168 forum posts

Condensation on the inside of the rain fly is not unusual in high humidity conditions. So long as it was not on the inside of the tent, then there is no problem. What happened here is that the rain you had over the 2 days previous was evaporating up from the ground and -- guess what -- condensing on the inside of the fly. As far as I am concerned, your rain fly was operating as designed.