Outdoor photography

10:10 a.m. on March 5, 2013 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,612 reviewer rep
1,253 forum posts

So many of you here on TS take such nice pictures that I was wondering if anyone would like to provide a tutorial on taking good pictures outdoors.  If I may I'd especially like to request help learning how to do better taking digital pictures with the small cameras common to hikers.

Jeff  

10:36 a.m. on March 5, 2013 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
606 forum posts

Im not an expert by any means, but ive had a few photo classes over the years. I think the best approach is to take several pics of everything. With folm this is limited to how much you carry, but digital isnt limited this way. The law of averages is on your side that way, your bound to get some good ones. Try not centering your subject, most people always center their subject, seems to be more interesting to have them off center to get more of the surroundings. We do have some pro photogs on here, so dont feel bad if you cant match them, they have thousands of dollars tied up in cameras and equipment. I like to take my pics without zooming first, then I can zoom and crop later, and get the frame and perspective I want. I miss too much by zooming in real tight.

12:21 p.m. on March 5, 2013 (EST)
210 reviewer rep
4,244 forum posts

I have been taking adventure travel pictures for over 36 years and shot 110mm , 35mm and moved into digital in the last 45 years since I was 12 years old.

Any camera whether its digital or 35mm see's the world differently than our eye's do. When a image is captured, the image taken is not usually what we saw when we took the picture. The camera see's and reads different light waves. The image you get may look over exposed or under exposed or something in between.

I fix this in Adobe Photoshop. I can adjust the images color saturation, Brightness and Contrast, crop the image, rotate and flip it, etc in Photoshop.

Example:

Dayhike-Lower-Espereo-trail-and-Rattlesn