Newbie needing advice

1:26 p.m. on March 10, 2004 (EST)
(Guest)

Hey guys. I'm new to backpacking, and I'm in need of some suggestions on a good pack. I have 2 trips planned, one of which is about 3 days, and the other will be a little under a week. (35-45 miles, most likely). Are there any packs you guys would recommend that I could get for somewhere around the $100 mark? Plus or minus $20 or so. I'm planning on keeping my weight to around 30 lbs.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

-Seth

2:10 p.m. on March 10, 2004 (EST)
30 reviewer rep
1,240 forum posts
Call your local camping specialty store

not one of the large chain sporting goods stores.

The local guy may have demo packs that you can rent.

I have a camp trails wilderness internal frame pack that I dearly love and cost about $120. It holds nearly 7200 cubic inches of camping toys. Don't think those are available new anymore. Actually... not many packs available in the $100 range anymore.

New to backpacking and going to keep weight to 30lbs? Let us know how much you end up really carrying!

good hiking!

5:48 p.m. on March 11, 2004 (EST)
(Guest)

Seth - There are many packs (probably hundreds) that could suit your needs depending on where you're going, what you're doing and what you're carrying.

You could check these out though.

Gregory G and Z Pack
Granite Gear Nimbus Ozone
GoLite Trek
Osprey Aether 60 and 75

All are good weekend and lightweight week long packs. Use caution packing them with more than 30 pounds though. The Osprey is bit more $ than what you're looking to spend, but could last a lifetime. You should be able to find great deals on the Gregory G pack.

Best thing to do is take your gear to a local shop or retailer, pack the bags and try them on. Go with the most comfortable and try to get some advice from a knowlegable salesperson - they should do a torso measurement for you too.

Good luck getting to 30 lbs.!

---------------

Quote: