Newbie perhaps asking dumb questions...

12:52 a.m. on June 24, 2004 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

... but at least I am bothering to ask them instead of going out and doing something dumb.
First off, does anyone know of some place reputable to learn proper ice axe usage and general knowledge of more technical mountaineering skills other than an extended NOLS trip.
Secondly, I am looking to hear from anyone who has bagged peaks in the Collegiate Range of Colorado or hiked through the Weminuche Wilderness also in Colorado, I am trying to decide where to head on a trip this August.
My current situation is that I have some experience, have been to a few cool places, and walked around some great country in the western US and southern Canada. I am at the point where the more I learn about backpacking and climbing, the more I realize I don't know and really should before doing the kind of things I really would like to do. I have been out with some reputable summer camping organizations, and have the basics of extended backpacking pretty well understood, but know very little about safe mountaineering practices and more advanced knowledge of dangerous situations, rescues, weather conditions, and terrain evaluation. Perhaps I am over thinking this, but after seeing Touching the Void and Into Thin Air, I am a little more cautious even about my seemingly less serious endeavors in the Rockies.
Any thoughts on the above would be appreciated.
SCS

4:02 p.m. on June 24, 2004 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
408 forum posts
Go to the snow...

Quote:

First off, does anyone know of some place reputable to learn proper ice axe usage and general knowledge of more technical mountaineering skills other than an extended NOLS trip.

You might try a guide service located near any place that has at least seasonal snow or glaciers. Most offer a day of introductory ice axe usage.

Quote: