Advice for a novice

8:19 a.m. on June 6, 2006 (EDT)
7 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

I'm relatively new to the backcountry camping experience.I am wanting to purchase a tent, pack, and all the rest. As for the tent, I seem to be having the most trouble. I keep flip flopping between the MSR Fusion 2 and Sierra Designs Reverse Combi(though a couple North Face tents keep sneaking in ie, the Tadpole23, and Heron 23.) What I want, ideally, is a go-anywhere, do-everything all season convertible with the capability of pitching the fly with a footprint, and lightweight to boot! I've looked and the MSR seems the best aside from the fly pitching. Am I looking for too much in my home away from home? Does anyone have any pointers?

8:52 a.m. on June 6, 2006 (EDT)
7 reviewer rep
11 forum posts
Another note or two

I forgot to mention I need enough room for my fiancee and myself. We're both kind of short. She's 5'3 or 4 and I'm 5'8 or 9.

10:46 a.m. on June 6, 2006 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,255 forum posts

hip said:
"...What I want, ideally, is a go-anywhere, do-everything all season convertible with the capability of pitching the fly with a footprint, and lightweight to boot! I've looked and the MSR seems the best aside from the fly pitching. Am I looking for too much in my home away from home?..."

Short answer - yes, you are demanding too much in a single tent. It's sort of like my ideal car - carrying capacity of an 18-wheeler, handling and speed of a Ferrari F-1, economy of a Prius, outside dimensions of a Mini (original, not the German imitation version), off-road capability of a Mog combined with one of the Baja-1000 or Dakar cars. Well, maybe not that extreme.