First Time Winter Camping---Clothing help

6:03 p.m. on December 29, 2009 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
55 forum posts

Hello everyone,

Near the end of january I will be going on a snowshoeing trip for 1 or 2 nights out. This is my first time winter camping, and I'm having a bit of trouble on what clothing to choose, and what clothing I will need. In addition, what layering system would be best to use while actually snowshoeing, and while just sitting around camp cooking/sleeping.

Cheers

-Eric D.

3:57 p.m. on December 30, 2009 (EST)
37 reviewer rep
747 forum posts

Eric

Please tell us where you are going, temperature and humidity in area, altitude and terrain. Will you cook on a camp fire or a stove and what warm clothes do you already have?

Jim S

4:50 p.m. on December 30, 2009 (EST)
2 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I've found hot chilly's pepperskins to be a very reliable base layer while snow camping. Depending on the model, they can range from 25-35 per top/bottom, coming to about 70 for a full set. They're comfortable, and I've been snow camping using these and a pair of lightly insulated snow pants with a couple t-shirt layers and snow jacket combo and felt fine between 0 and 30 degrees. Below that (or at night) multiple layers were necessary.

I'd recommend using the thickest wool socks you can find, and bringing at least 3 pairs. They'll keep you warm even if they get wet.

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/hot-chillys/pepper-skins-crewneck/

Don't forget your sleeping pad! :)

10:55 p.m. on January 1, 2010 (EST)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

Eric, There are a number of threads here already that will answer your question in detail. Use the search engine at the top of the page to find them. I have my clothing listed in one of them as do several other members. You can find lists on the net on other sites as well using terms like "winter camping" to find them.