Books

12:18 p.m. on January 12, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
25 forum posts

I am new to backpacking. As a matter of fact, I haven't even purchased any gear yet!! Well, I have gone on "short" day hikes at my local nature center, have a good pair of hiking shoes, that is all. I have been taking some time to read as much as possible here on the web, but I was wondering if there are any good beginner books on backpacking/dayhiking? I know from other hobbies that I have been associated with, this is probably like asking which is the best car, a Chevy or a Ford! I just see so many books out there, that I would like to get one that is somewhat above the rest, a MUST read for a beginner. My plans are to only go on dayhikes, no over night trips. Any help?

Thanks,

Tom

2:43 p.m. on January 12, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
415 forum posts

Here's what I'd suggest: buy a guidebook for hikes near you and let your hikes determine what you need. Field guides for local flora/fauna would also be helpful.

Also: find a hiking group, go out with them and see what they're carrying. I always picked up great tips and ideas from other hikers

And: talk to people on the trail about their gear and what they prefer.

So much of day-hiking is just walking on dirt and enjoying the world as you pass through it.

Books on survival and first aid would be helpful, no doubt, but if you stay on the main trails and avoid foolish risks, you shouldn't need a lot of instruction.

3:58 p.m. on January 12, 2010 (EST)
65 reviewer rep
170 forum posts

I think that tommangan is right. Starting with day-hiking on good trails shouldn't be too technical and a guidebook for the hikes will be the second best thing after a hiking group/club. If you do want a good book to read that will give you a good all round but maybe a bit more Mt knowledge then you need then look at this one:

Freedom of the Hills

4:55 p.m. on January 12, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
415 forum posts