General weight ranges?

1:59 a.m. on January 23, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
39 forum posts

Hi, I'm new to backpacking and am in the process of looking for and aquiring gear. I know there are no right or difinitive answers when it comes to gear and I expect to see a variety of opinions in response to this, but here goes. I would like to know what constitutes an 'normal' weight range for major items, ie. pack, sleeping bag, and tent. I think I have a good idea on the rest of the stuff but these three seem to have such a huge range. Any suggestions would be great. :) Thanks!

6:44 a.m. on January 23, 2010 (EST)
314 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

It depends on the season. Ive got 3 tents ranging from 4 -13 lbs. Each has its use. Sleeping bags are the same. You dont take a -40 bag to sleep in 50+ weather. In the summer I traval lighter than in the winter. The lighter smaller pack in summer and heavier larger pack in the winter.

11:24 a.m. on January 23, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
39 forum posts

I should have been more specific, sorry about that. :) For the time being I am interested in the average 3 season stuff. I understand that the winter stuff is going to be a bit more weight for obvious reasons.

11:52 a.m. on January 23, 2010 (EST)
14 reviewer rep
318 forum posts

My three season is almost finished. I built mine and my sons with a different angle. I wanted items that have high customer approval. I have found most items you buy from the store (almost all stores) are junk that break two minutes after the warranty is over or before the warranty is over but after the receipt is gone. I would rather pack a tried and true item that will last then buy five of the same item. I expect my finished pack to weigh around 40-50 pounds. It is 32 pounds right now. I still need to get a few more items. When I set off it may weigh a lot more if I have to carry a lot of water.