Tents

3:53 p.m. on January 26, 2010 (EST)
45 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

I have been backpacking for quite a few years now but I have always just used a tarp and a ground cloth (and sometimes a bug net) as a shelter. While this works fine most of the time it can be a pain to set up in the rain or wind and it is not the warmest shelter. I am looking into investing in a backpacking tent. Although price is somewhat of a factor I will put the money toward the right tent. I am looking for a 3 person and a warmer 3 season, or a 4 season. The biggest things that I am looking at are weight and packed size, it also needs to be able to accomodate 6 foot tall people. I would like to spend under $300 but definately under $400.

Thanks

5:28 p.m. on January 26, 2010 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,478 forum posts

Welcome ATRemy,

A tarp is a pain to set up in windy storms? Not the warmest?

Yep.....I agree!

I did that for a while too, the UL aspect of the set up sure is attractive. Works pretty good a lot of the time as you stated.

What weight range are you shooting for?

Here is a link to the gear selection guide on Trailspace, this page deals with 3-4 season convertible tents:

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/tents/convertible/

6:57 p.m. on January 26, 2010 (EST)
45 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

I'm looking for under 7 lbs. One that I liked was the Black Diamond Guiding Light, but unfortunately it is expensive. It's only 5.5 Lbs and it packs to 7" x 12" which is impressive since it is a 4 person. I have looked at a lot of reviews for many different tents, but it can be hard to judge who has actually used the tent, and who just used it for a weekend once. I was hoping that some people on here would be able to tell me a little more about the tents that they have used and what they liked about them and what they thought were drawbacks.

7:26 p.m. on January 26, 2010 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,478 forum posts