Need a 1 person tent under 150

3:48 p.m. on July 29, 2010 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

Hi, ive been looking around for a good 1 person tent for backpacking. Im thinking about the Eureka Spitfire 1. Is there anything else you would recommend. Also want a good sleeping pad, but not sure whether to get a self inflating or foam pad. Im new to solo backpacking. Thanks, Shane

4:18 p.m. on July 29, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
148 forum posts

Welcome to the forum Shane.

I was looking for a tent last November and only had $140.00 to spend. Came very close to getting that tent. It was on my short list. Ended up getting something with a little more floor space so I felt less cramped if stuck in it during fowl weather. Bought the Alps Mountaineering Mystique 2. I don't mind the extra 2 lbs for something a little bigger.

My old bones appreciate self inflaters, especially since I sleep on my side. I slept on the thin foam pads when younger with no problems.

5:00 p.m. on July 29, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
74 forum posts

A real good friend of mine bought a small outfitter out and has brand new Kelty 2man 3 season tents for sale here in the st.louis MO area. I just bought the Grand Mesa 2 from her last week. It weighs 4lbs and some ounces comes with full rain fly and stuff sack. She has some other small Kelty backpacking tents as well. Email me at dennis.m.woods@monsanto.com if your interested and i can give you her contact info as she has some on ebay and craigslist and does send them around the country.

7:42 p.m. on July 29, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,556 forum posts

Also consider:

Sierra Designs Lightyear 1

Mountain Hardware Sprite 1

As far as a pad goes I still use a closed cell foam pad. Sleeping on the ground has never bothered me, and in fact I spent many years taking daily naps on a stack of plywood at work. Sometimes I worked too.

Welcome to the site Shane, I hope you find just the right stuff you need.