Water filters versus water purifiers?

4:06 a.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello all!

Ok, first of all I'm not really a beginner but am when it comes to certain gear. I am looking into purchasing a water filter or purifier but am confused. I know for a fact that I need something that filters out viruses and bacteria especially giardia. But what about chemicals? I know of a handful of places I have my eye on to go backpacking but several of the water sources are contaminated with mercury from mining in the area years ago. Are there any filters or purifiers that remove mercury to make it potable? Would one work over the other? Thanks a ton in advance!

Happy Trails!

Samantha

8:28 a.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
27 reviewer rep
200 forum posts

Stay far, far away from water contaminated from mining activities. None of the portable filters are going to be effective in removing heavy metals from water. It isn't suitable for drinking, cleaning, or (and I shudder to even think about it) swimming. That doesn't necessarily preclude you from basecamping and day hiking in those areas though. Just understand that mining regions have their own risks in addition to those incurred simply by being in the woods and far from assistance.

10:56 a.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
658 reviewer rep
2,149 forum posts

Welcome to TrailSpace, Samantha :)

I use the Katadyn Hiker Pro, and love it. There is not much that you can do to purify or filter mineral contamination with any acceptable certainty or practicality.

2:08 p.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,846 reviewer rep
1,317 forum posts