Clothing advice for winter hiking (NE Pennsylvania)

12:13 a.m. on September 17, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I am somewhat new to hiking. I plan on doing a lot of day hiking (including multiple days in a row) throughout the fall/winter in Northeastern Pennsylvania (snow and average temp: ~30 degrees F).

Any advice on clothing for women (features, styles or brands you'd recommend?)? Specifically: outerpants, middle layer fleece and gaiters.

Outer pants for women? I own base-layers that I use for winter running. So, I am looking for a good outer pants (not snowpant). Someone had mentioned arc'tercyx, which seem fancy but neat. Or, carhartt, which seems like it would be fine, but I do not see a style for women...though I'd consider a men's pair. I'd prefer to spend less than $100.

Some features I would like to have include durability and stretch/flexibility. Based on my summer/fall hikes, I feel I want cargo pockets... though perhaps in winter my coat pockets are sufficient? Any advice?

Middle-layer fleece? What about advice for fleece middle layers? I have a good base layer and a reasonable shell. I am wondering about good fleece as a middle layer.

Gaiters? I plan to wear my regular hiking boots that are decent in winter. Should I consider getting gaiters?

Thanks for any thoughts or wisdom you can pass along!

7:17 p.m. on October 6, 2010 (EDT)
121 reviewer rep
602 forum posts

I'd go to your local outfitter and get advice from them. I could write a book about the types of clothing you mention that are available, but the problem is that your area may be unique to weather patterns or other things, and the local folks would know best.

a couple tips:

There are tons of options for mid layers. I wouldn't recommend getting anything expensive - just go with a basic zipping or pull over fleece from walmart or a consignment shop - as long as it's fleece and doesn't contain ANY cotton, you'll be fine.