Gear question...

12:34 p.m. on December 19, 2010 (EST)
21 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I realize this is nit-picky, but what do you guys carry with you for a towel when backpacking?  I have seen the fancy lightweight towels at the rei store that cost 30-40 dollars and they just don't seem like a good thing.  But, I have no experience other that just taking a small, real, towel with me.  I am going to be on a two week canoe trip next spring and have been wondering how I can lighten my load.  I know I will get wet and need a way to dry off.  But I would like to use something lighter that a real towel.  Maybe a hand towel?  Anyone tried "shamwows"?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jeff.

12:50 p.m. on December 19, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
148 forum posts

I carry a large Shamwow.  Does the job and dries out fairly quick.  Doesn't even need to be dry to dry you off.

1:01 p.m. on December 19, 2010 (EST)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Shamwows will work, I have used them also you could go to a local auto store and get a chamois or a micro-fiber towel that will do the trick. Happy hiking.

1:16 p.m. on December 19, 2010 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
1,308 reviewer rep
1,076 forum posts

Also, those disposable "kitchen" towels often found in the cleaning products aisle in a three-pack make great camp towels. They weigh less than the MSR uber-towels, absorb as much, dry faster, and are under $1 a towel wherever I've found them. The tradeoff is durability; they shred pretty easily if they're used for any type of scrubbing. For an in-tent "mop up" towel, however, they can't be beat, and I have used them successfully for bathing/drying off.

9:21 p.m. on December 19, 2010 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,555 forum posts

I think that's a good question, being nit-picky is the only way to get your gear selection just right, it takes time and some trial and error.