Sleeping bag help!

9:54 p.m. on February 25, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
82 forum posts

I am reading about down fill, and synthetic fill and all types of fills and styles and temperatures, and my head is spinning...

I really want a sleeping back that will cinch up and pack down small enough to fit into the bottom of my pack without taking up 2/3rds of it.

I know that I need a 40-60* bag, so there ya go... now what am I looking for?

11:18 p.m. on February 25, 2011 (EST)
121 reviewer rep
590 forum posts

40-60 degree bags are generally going to be tiny and light compared to bags when you get ratings closer to 0 or below.

I have a synthetic 20 degree bag that compresses down to 12 inches long and 7 inches in diameter. It fits into a day pack I have, so I know it would fit in my expedition bag's compartment no problem.

There are people far more experienced here than me, but from what I know, down bags pack a little smaller and tend to be a little lighter in the same rating when compared with synthetic bags. 

Down bags also typically cost more than synthetic bags in the same temp rating.

Down bags are typically useless when wet - down can't insulate or hold heat when wet, where as synthetic bags, especially the right kind, can keep you warm when wet.

hope that helps, but if you are looking in the right places, you might have already known everything I said.

If you're going to be camping in such warm climates, you might want to just look at cheap bags since at those temps it's generally more about comfort than survival. It's generally recommended to get a bag rated 10 degrees below what you think you might encounter. So maybe you want to go with a 20 degree bag?

11:59 p.m. on February 25, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
82 forum posts

Also to give you a bit more info, I live in Florida, so temps dip down to 35/40ish at the LOWEST and that is during winter.

6:41 a.m. on February 26, 2011 (EST)
314 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts