First Backpacking Trip- Need Advice!!

9:20 p.m. on April 30, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hey All! I'm really happy I found this site, I've been looking online for the past few days for advice for beginners and this place seems perfect! I'm a complete newbie when it comes to backpacking but it's something I've always wanted to get into, and I have a lot of free time this summer so I'm dead set on actually making it happen. I need some advice on whether or not I'm setting my sights a little too high for my experience level for a first real trip.

Some background info as I'm new here: 27 year old female from southern Ontario, I'm an avid day hiker, not too much camping experience though. I'm planning on driving out to Banff this summer with my boyfriend who is an avid outdoorsman/fisherman and has a lot more camping experience than I do. We plan on camping on the way out there, and have been planning on doing the 6-7 day sawback trail once there. Between us we have a decent amount of gear to start off with, most of it borrowed. I'm so excited about jumping into this but at the same time I'd like to remain a realist and I guess that's where you guys come in. Is a 7 day journey through the rocky mountains for a first backpacking trip unrealistic? How did you guys start off? Do you just jump in and learn on the fly? Am I just worrying too much? We are both in excellent shape, and we're going to be doing some weekend camping trips and long day hikes to work up to this, but I'm pretty obsessed with preparation and I guess I'd just like to hear some feedback from some experienced backpackers, as among my friends I'm kind of an anomaly for even being interested in this.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any help!!

9:45 p.m. on April 30, 2011 (EDT)
318 reviewer rep
56 forum posts

This sounds like an awesome plan! Some things that come to my mind..