Book?

8:58 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
9 reviewer rep
119 forum posts

Was just wondering if there was one book out there that I should consider purchasing when it comes to backpacking/camping.  Trying to learn all I need to know about what to bring, pack, how to etc.  Thanks

9:10 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts
9:14 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
9 reviewer rep
119 forum posts

perfect thanks

9:19 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Never a problem. Happy hiking.

10:53 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
913 forum posts

Link above didn't work for me. Missing the last 3.

http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Walker-IV-Colin-Fletcher/dp/0375703233

10:58 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Sorry about that. Did it from my phone. May have had something to do with it.

11:46 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
299 reviewer rep
141 forum posts

Thanks for the information, I'm still learning myself and just order the book.

11:58 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
913 forum posts

No big deal. Thanks for the recommendation. Probably get that for my next long trip.

3:09 a.m. on June 25, 2011 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

FYI, The Complete Walker is considered the "bible" of backpacking and is now in its fourth edition. A bit about the original author, the late Colin Fletcher-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Fletcher

and the book itself-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Complete_Walker

There are dozens, if not hundreds of books on backpacking and hiking, but buying only one-TCW is it.

For something less weighty, Allan & Mike's Really Cool Backpackin' Book should also be good and a fun read. I have two of their other books, one on tele skiing and one on backcountry skiing and both are great-lots of tips illustrated with cartoons. Amazon has all of them.

5:04 a.m. on June 25, 2011 (EDT)
9 reviewer rep
119 forum posts

I love Amazon.  Thanks again.