Cold weather stoves...

10:52 a.m. on December 4, 2011 (EST)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Would the MSR SimmerLite be a solid option for my winter solo use? I have no experience with this stove but is seems like a decent little burner. 

I am honestly looking for info from anyone that has used this stove. 

I have a heavier model that is good for groups but its complete overkill for just myself.

12:08 p.m. on December 4, 2011 (EST)
81 reviewer rep
422 forum posts

Hi, Rick,

Check your messages, but the Simmerlite is a very nice solo cold weather option.  It can be used for more than solo use, but because it's the lightest remote burner white gasoline stove out there, it's a good choice for solo use.

HJ
Adventures in Stoving

12:29 p.m. on December 4, 2011 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
968 reviewer rep
3,470 forum posts

Yeah, what Jim said.

I do not own a lot of stoves, I have used a lot of stoves that belonged to buddies.

I do own the MSR Simmerlite and the Whisperlite and have used the XGK, and Dragonfly among other brands / types.

The Simmerlite would be my choice although I was slightly disappointed in it's simmering ability.

I don't see how you can go wrong with a lightweight white gas stove in cold weather. I know there are plenty of work a rounds for other stove types to negate the effects of cold temps, but for me it's an unnecessary hassle IF I have a liquid fuel option.

Anyway, that's why I would choose the Simmerlite with a Whisperlite a close second.

2:17 p.m. on December 4, 2011 (EST)
121 reviewer rep
582 forum posts

trout -

maybe you were disappointed by it's simmering because it simmers things litely...

3:13 p.m. on December 4, 2011 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
968 reviewer rep
3,470 forum posts

iClimb said:

trout -

maybe you were disappointed by it's simmering because it simmers things litely...

Yes, that was it.