stable stove suggestions for bsa backpacking

8:57 a.m. on March 27, 2012 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Im looking for a stable stove recommendation like the Optimus Stella + (that is no longer made) Propane/butane fuel  light weight with a built in ignighter and very low and wide like the stella for stability with a huge 4q cook pot.

Thanks

Bill 

9:21 a.m. on March 27, 2012 (EDT)
314 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts
6:22 p.m. on March 27, 2012 (EDT)
81 reviewer rep
422 forum posts

Hi, Bill,

With no offense to anyone intended, my feeling is that Scouts might want to stick with brand names.   A no-name from China like the BRS-15 may not be safe.  I have no experience with the BRS-15, but I'm extremely leery of such stoves since there is no recourse if you have a problem.  American liability laws do not apply to Chinese manufactured stoves.

I think the MSR Windpro would suit what you need quite well.

So would the MSR RapidFire which is no longer made but can still be found on eBay and such, usually for less than a Windpro.

The Jetboil Helios is also good but is a bit pricey.

The Brunton Vesper is good but has been discontinued.

Primus makes the Express Spider, but I don't think it would be good for large pot sizes.

HJ
Adventures in Stoving

7:54 p.m. on March 27, 2012 (EDT)
155 reviewer rep
99 forum posts

"The Jetboil Helios is also good but is a bit pricey."