back country meals

6:29 p.m. on July 15, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

I am fairly new at backpacking and am wondering if MRE's are a viable choice to reduce cost of meals. Are they exceptionally heavy or bulky? The reason I ask is that I cannot afford the dehydrated stuff and I have noticed that the MRE's price to quantity ratio is very good. I have considered all the home "remedies" and would like feedback specifically on MRE's. Thanks in advance....Newbie

7:13 p.m. on July 15, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

MREs, like most store-bought freeze dried, are overpriced, and they are way over-packaged. Save some money, eat really well with the foods you like, cooked the way you like, and carry lightweight meals - in short, spend $40 or so and buy a dehydrator. If you want some tips on dehydrating, let me know and I'll email you my little write-up.

8:56 a.m. on July 16, 2001 (EDT)
30 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts
Ever eat an MRE? Try one before you decide! Yuuuuk. n/m

n/m

12:41 p.m. on July 16, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Janet
You can cook outside