Backpacking Food, Beefy Mac, and Cheese.

11:34 a.m. on September 7, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello forum. This is my first post. In high school I worked in kitchens, and became a foodie. My first adult job was working in a bakery. For the last 13 years I have been a craft brewer. I like to figure out how to make backpacking food that not only tastes good, but also has a high protein content. Making YouTube videos to show other how to do this is my newest hobby;

12:54 p.m. on September 7, 2017 (EDT)
244 reviewer rep
5,142 forum posts

When I cook pasta, I bring the water to a boil, add the pasta, stir, turn off heat, cover and let stand for 10 minutes. No need to simmer and waste fuel. In ten minutes the pasta is cooked.

I am a cook by trade and learned this trick while making macaroni salad one day. I had put the pasta in the big pan I was using and got a bunch of ticket food orders, So turned off the simmer water and later when I returned the water temp had only dropped 40 degrees in 30 minutes and the pasta was over cooked. But it taught me that I no longer had to simmer for 7 minutes.

You can also save more fuel by presoaking the pasta in cold water, in a water bottle for an hour before, bringing the water to a simmer to make it hot to eat and add other ingredients.

I make a 8 oz cannister of fuel last a month cooking pasta the hot soak method in the frist para graph, and longer if I presoak it first.

I add a can of tuna in oil to the water as its coming to a boil and also crushed Dorito's for a southwest flavor. The oil in the tuna can or soft packet saves carrying extra cooking oil.

I also add sometimes a can of veggies for more taste. Also I don't use more than 2 cups of water to cook the pasta in, adding too much is waste, having to pour out the extra.

7:25 a.m. on September 8, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Thanks for sharing, Anthony. I will check out your videos.

8:58 a.m. on September 8, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep